A Mini #Bloggiesta Mini-Giveaway!

DEADLINE EXTENDED TO SEPT. 30TH

For your chance to win a $10 Barnes & Noble gift card, just comment on any page or post on my blog during the weekend of the Fall Mini Bloggiesta, Sept. 21-Sept. 24, or by Sept. 30th. The winner will be announced on Monday, Oct. 1st.

Following my blog would be lovely, of course, but is not necessary to enter the contest! Anyone who commented on Thursday or Friday before this announcement can count that comment as an entry or leave another one – either way will count as one entry.

Commenting more than once during Bloggiesta is great, because I hearing from you, but won’t count towards multiple entries!


You do not have to be participating in Bloggiesta to win, but there’s still time to sign up if you want to spend time working on your blog this weekend. There are fun Mini Challenges to try, too.

Now I can cross “Update Giveaways Page” off my to-do list!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Ay Caramba! Mini #Bloggiesta Coming Up @Bloggiesta


Although I am remembering my blog administrator password these days and have started to post again after a long period of blogger’s block, there’s no better way to dive back into the book blogging community than a Bloggiesta! Of which there’s a mini one coming right up! Bloggiesta Olé!

I have to work on Saturday, but I should have some blogging time on Friday and Sunday to work on my Fall Mini Bloggiesta To-Do List. It’s highly unlikely I’ll get much done, but planning is the first step.

Bloggiesta Starting Line image
MINI BLOGGIESTA TO-DO LIST

❏  Write & schedule one review
❏  Create “About Reader’s Advisory” page
X  Create one new book list post (Favorite Summer Cookbooks, coming Friday)
X  Update Giveaways Page Done! Enter to win $10 B&N gift card!
❏  Update review indexes
❏  Add to Book Lists page (Started – in planning stage!)
X Comment on other Bloggiesta participants’ blogs

If you want to join in, but you’re not sure what to put on your own Bloggiesta to-do list, I based mine on this master list from Suey, one of the Bloggiesta masterminds.


Some of you may be wondering what exactly is Bloggiesta and/or when is it?
In short, Bloggiesta is a blogging marathon revolving around ticking off those items on your to-do list and improving your blog while in the good company of other awesome bloggers doing the same thing.
Awesome mascot Pedro (Plan. Edit. Develop. Review. Organize.) is ready to break out the nachos, enchiladas, drinks, mariachi music, and whack a pinata or two! It’s nothing short of an awesome fiesta!— from Bloggiesta.com.
Find out more about Bloggiesta.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Glass Houses and Readalikes for Louise Penny

cover image of Glass Houses audiobookGlass Houses by Louise Penny is #13 in the Armand Gamache series, and the books have become enormously popular. I’d like to think I was an early adopter, but #1 came out in 2006, and I can’t say for sure I’ve been pushing these books for 11 years!

If you haven’t heard of Louise Penny, you must not avoid anything that even remotely resembles crime fiction. She was even on CBS Morning America last month:

https://www.cbsnews.com/videos/louise-penny-on-her-new-inspector-gamache-novel-glass-houses/

Glass Houses might be a hard one to jump into the series with, because the series is so far along, but I think the book succeeds both as a stand-alone title and in moving the characters forward in the series. The author does very well bringing in enough backstory for new readers (or to remind regular readers of the series) to grasp the personalities and motivations of the main characters and the essential peacefulness of the village of Three Pines, which manages to remain undisturbed despite the disturbing number of violent murders that happen there!

In an interview recorded with the audiobooks’ new narrator, Robert Bathurst, at the end of Glass Houses, Louise Penny says her books aren’t crime fiction. With the main character the Chief Superintendent of the Sûreté du Québec, the police department for the whole of the province, and with a murder mystery at the center of just about every book, it seems like plain old genre prejudice to claim the books aren’t “crime fiction”.  But they definitely do fall at the literary end of the crime fiction spectrum, with themes for each book and thematic explorations of ethics and morality running throughout the series.

With characters who grow and change over the course of the series; the author’s fondness for word play and her often poetic language; and the rigorous intellectual, philosophical, moral, and cultured scaffolding every story is mounted on, these books will probably not appeal to readers looking for a straightforward murder mystery.

I’ve tried before on this blog to come up with a list of authors to try if you like Louise Penny, and I still think Jane Langton’s Homer and Mary Kelly mysteries are the closest match for style. But here is a list of other books that might hit the spot while fans of Louise Penny-style literary crime fiction (Shhh, don’t tell the author I said crime fiction!) wait for next year’s Armand Gamache book.

(I’ve listened to all of the Armand Gamache books on audio, as I do most of my crime fiction, so all of the books on this list are also recommended as audiobooks.)

Jasper Fforde
Thursday Next series
Less serious and with fantasy elements, the word play and humor of these books might appeal to readers who find the banter of the residents of Three Pines one of the best parts of this series.

Jane Langton
Homer and Mary Kelly series
The author imbues her mysteries with history and culture with deftness and humor. The marriage of Homer and Mary Kelly is reminiscent of the Armand and Rene Marie Gamache partnership.

G.M. Malliet
Max Tudor series
Classic village mysteries with a handsome, unmarried vicar in the lead role, these stories have the wit and ironic self-regard seen in the lighter books in the Armand Gamache series.

Inger Ash Wolfe
Hazel Micallef series
Darker in tone than even the darkest of the Armand Gamache books, the Hazel Micallef books may appeal to readers looking for literary crime fiction with realistic characters set in Canada.

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Suggestions from a Massachusetts Librarian

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: