What to Read after The Goldfinch: The Orphans of Race Point by Patry Francis @HarperPerennial

cover imageI’m deep into a severe blogging slump right now, but have to tell you about The Orphans of Race Point by Patry Francis. It’s the book you’re going to want to read this summer – in case you haven’t heard.

I was lucky enough to receive a review copy of The Orphans of Race Point, the second novel by Patry Francis (after The Liar’s Diary), and have been raving about it to anyone who will listen ever since. If you recently finished reading The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt and wondered what sprawling, Dickensian novel everyone would be reading next…this is it.

Instead of London, Las Vegas, or New York City, the tangled lives of two motherless children Gus and Hallie, and their friend Neil, unfold mostly on the beaches and narrow streets of Provincetown – on the outermost tip of Cape Cod – and in the seacoast city of New Bedford, Massachusetts, where there is also a large Portuguese-American community. Tragedies, misunderstandings, and missed opportunities pile up for the three young friends, after a violent act by Gus’ father brings them together, setting them on their course for life. Fate lies heavily on the characters, as the book explores true love, fatherhood, human behavior, the human spirit, and what about ourselves can be changed.

I think the cover design makes it clear that The Orphans of Race Point isn’t a thriller (although some of the promotion seems to me to make it sound that way.) It’s literary fiction with a strong story line that touches on big ideas but focuses on the personal. In The Orphans of Race Point, the characters and the story share center stage, giving it the heft you want in a long novel (over 500 pages) and events and action that keep you turning pages. The perfect summer read for the beach or the cottage! (Or for wintertime. Or anytime, really. But why wait, and risk hearing spoilers?)

It would also make a great book club book, and has a reading group guide included.

For anyone in the area of the Brockton Public Library, the author is going to be speaking and reading from The Orphans of Race Point this Saturday, June 14, at 2 p.m. Hope to see you there!

The Orphans of Race Point
Francis, Patry
Harper Perennial
May 6, 2014
544p.
978-0-06-228130-2
$15.99, softcover

Disclosure: I received an advanced reading copy of this book from Library Journal for review and gave it a starred review. I also met the author at a book signing in Brockton after the publication of her first novel, The Liar’s Diary, which is pretty different from The Orphans of Race Point, but also excellent!

Other opinions (all very good to excellent):
Bookalicious Mama
bookchickdi
The Book Wheel

Doing Dewey
TLC Tours (for other blog tour reviews)

a

27 thoughts on “What to Read after The Goldfinch: The Orphans of Race Point by Patry Francis @HarperPerennial”

  1. Stopping by from Steadfast Reader–I haven’t read The Goldfinch yet–it’s sitting in my kindle, but I have to admit I’m a bit intimidated to start it, even though I’ve really enjoyed Tartt’s other novels. I hadn’t heard about this book before, but I’m intrigued! On to the TBR list it goes!

  2. Your enthusiasm is infectious 🙂 I have to admit I thought it looked like a thriller at first, with the shadows, but the font is definitely literary.

  3. Tried to leave comment on your Literary Blog Hop post, but I couldn’t get the form. Even though I hated The Goldfinch, I think I will like this one. Please enter me in the giveaway.

  4. Sounds like a wonderful read from your review and the perfect accompaniment to The Goldfinch which I have dedicated to read this summer, have been holding off too long, but its my nominated chunkster for the summer and I know its going to be perfect.

    Thanks for the opportunity to participate in your giveaway to win a copy of this book!

  5. This hop is getting dangerous! My TBR is screaming for me to stop adding to it 🙂 The Orphans of Race Point sounds like and amazing read. I already have Goldfinch on the TBR and I’ll take your word for it that both are great reads! (readerrabbit22 at gmail.com)

  6. I like that this book has various elements to it, that it is literary in nature, different than what I usually read.

  7. This sounds interesting. I like the cover and the sound of the content.

    I haven’t read Goldfinch. A few friends read it and were not thrilled with it. Not sure I am going to read it.

    ENJOY your reading week. THANKS for sharing.

    Stopping by from Carole’s Books You Loved February Edition. I am in the list as #11.

    My book entry is below.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Book Entry

Would love to have you comment!